a+_works
logo LAB ON STAGE

DEUTSCH

Garden of desires

Next presentation Kuntsuni Linz 7:00 pm
Domgasse / Seminarraum 14


Garten of desires
Photo Collage: Martyna Lorenc


Concept: Martyna Lorenc
Performance: Martyna Lorenc & Andrea Maria Handler
Music & soundscape: Karol Kensy (Kensee)
Stage assistance: Adriana Torres Topaga
Initial research, VARP 2013: Gaja Karolczak, Martyna Lorenc, Maria Zimpel
With special thanks to other former contributors: Ludmiła Kaczmarek, Gaja Karolczak, Claire Blake
 
Kindly supported by Land Oberösterreich, Linz Kultur, C.O.V./Rose Breuss, Life Long Burning (Wild Cards/DanceWEB), Lab On Stage, Anton Bruckner University Linz, 4Culture Association – WASP Bucharest, Art Stations Foundation Poznań (Old Brewery New Dance), Sense of Movement Foundation Poznań.

Garden of desires is a small-scale interdisciplinary venture that has been developed with contribution of people involved in different disciplines – performing arts, cognitive science, dance theory, music, space design. Part of the inspiration and methodology stem from former research project intersecting neuroscience and movement practices on the topic of phantomic sensations. The term “phantom” and „phantomic” constituted a conceptual and metaphorical frame for working with those layers of experience that are residues and traces of stimulations, as well as account for hidden, contextual layers of what's manifested and perceivable.

Garten of desires -  Corina Deaconu
FOTO: Corina Deaconu

The process of creating Garden of desires aimed at investigating the tangency of bodily sensation and imagination as a place of an interweaving of what’s present and what’s apparent to our senses. 
Central to this process is touch and tactile stimulation - in variety and nuances, literal, spoken or simulated, and the possible contents it may reveal in a person, a sensation, an image, a memory, an emotion, an environment, a narrative. The practiced art of touch is not pre-set by a clear intention, becomes choreographed by elementary curiosity in the very moment. All the stimulative experiences, actual, fictitious, imagined, spoken, unravel different bodies contained in one. A body which borders can be far away from their substance. A body that morphs its proprioceptively felt shape through touch and sensation into its alternatives, phantastic entities, manifested in movement. A body that extends through imagery it evokes, into other spaces, universes. 

Initial research, VARP 2013: Claire Blake, Gaja Karolczak, Ludmiła Kaczmarek, Martyna Lorenc, Maria Zimpel

 

 

Garden of desires - Pusch
Photo: -Bernhard Pusch


Related Works

lab on stage logo Phantom Bodies Real Pleasures

a+_works
logo LAB ON STAGE

ENGLISH

Garden of desires
Garten of desires
Photo Collage: Martyna Lorenc

Konzept: Martyna Lorenc
Performance: Martyna Lorenc & Andrea Maria Handler
Musik & Soundscape: Karol Kensy (Kensee)
Bühnenassistenz: Adriana Torres Topaga
Erst-Research, VARP 2013: Gaja Karolczak, Martyna Lorenc, Maria Zimpel
Mit speziellem Dank an frühere Mitwirkende: Ludmiła Kaczmarek, Gaja Karolczak, Claire Blake
 
Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Land Oberösterreich, Linz Kultur, C.O.V./Rose Breuss, Life Long Burning (Wild Cards/DanceWEB), Lab On Stage, Anton Bruckner University Linz, 4Culture Association – WASP Bucharest, Art Stations Foundation Poznań (Old Brewery New Dance), Sense of Movement Foundation Poznań.

Garden of desires ist ein interdisziplinäres Wagnis, das sich durch die Mitwirkung der involvierten Personen aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen entwickelt hat - performative Künste, Kognitionswissenschaft, Tanztheorie, Musik und Raumdesign. Teil der Inspiration und Methodologie stammt von einem früheren Research-Projekt, das am Schnittpunkt von Neurowissenschaft und Bewegungspraktiken ansetzt und sich Phantom-Sensationen zum Thema gemacht hat. Der Begriff „phantom“ beschrieb dabei einen konzeptuellen und metaphorischen Rahmen um mit speziellen Ebenen der Erfahrung zu arbeiten, die einerseits Überbleibsel und Spuren von Stimulationen sind als auch eine Beschreibung für versteckte, Kontext-abhängige Schichten dessen, was wahrnehmbar ist und sich manifestiert hat. 

Im Kreationsprozess von Garden of desires lag der Fokus auf einer performativen Untersuchung der Berührungspunkte körperlicher Empfindungen und der Phantasie als Ort an dem sich Dinge verweben, die für unsere Sinne präsent und ersichtlich sind.

Zentraler Punkt dieses Prozesses ist die Berührung und taktile Stimulation - in einer Vielfalt von Nuancen, wortwörtlich, gesprochen oder simuliert, und die möglichen Inhalte die sich vermeintlich in einer Person offenbaren, eine Empfindung, ein Vorstellungsbild, eine Erinnerung, eine Emotion, eine Umgebung, eine Erzählung. Die zelebrierte Kunst der Berührung ist nicht vorab durch eine bestimmte Intention festgelegt sondern choreographiert sich durch ihre grundlegende Neugierde in jedem einzelnen Moment. Alle Erfahrungen, sei es durch Stimulation, gegenwärtig, fiktiv, durch Vorstellungsbilder oder gesprochen, enthüllen mögliche Körper, die sich in einem physischen verbergen. Ein Körper, dessen Grenzen sich weit entfernt der Substanz befinden. Ein Körper, der seine propriozeptiv erfühlte Gestalt durch Berührung und Empfindungen in Alternativcharaktere verwandelt, phantastische Wesen manifestiert in Bewegung. Ein Körper, der sich durch die Symbolik, die er hervorruft, ausdehnt in andere Sphären und Universen.

 

Garden of desires - Pusch
FOTO: Bernhard Pusch

 


Related Works

lab on stage logo Phantom Bodies Real Pleasures